New Zones and Divisions on Indian Railways

New Zones and Divisions on Indian Railways are set up keeping in view various factors like size, workload, accessibility, traffic pattern and other operational/administrative requirements, consistent with the needs of economy and efficiency.

At present, there is no plan to set up new divisions on Indian Railways, except those with headquarters at Gulbarga, Jammu and Silchar, which were announced in February, 2014. In addition, a Committee of senior officers from Railways has also been constituted to examine the issue of setting up a new railway zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh, in terms of Item No.8 of Schedule 13 (Infrastructure) of Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014.

Konkan Railway is not attached to any Zonal Railway. It is under the control of Konkan Railway Corporation Limited (KRCL), a Central Public Sector Enterprise (CPSE) under the Ministry of Railways, formed with the mandate of construction and operation of Konkan Railway.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Manoj Sinha in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha yesterday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *